Testimonials

Surf or Sound Realty Guest Reviews

We host thousands of family vacations each year and we enjoy hearing how much fun everyone had and what you all love about our charming island. Below are some reviews we have received from our wonderful guests.

Awesome house! We decided to try the Outer Banks for the Christmas Season.... What a great idea! Buck's Beach House is beautiful! We have already booked for the 2016 Christmas Season!
4/5/15

What would I do with my Hatteras Island Spring Escape? Sit by the shore...where the land meets the sea and reflect how blessed I am to be...staying in a home rented by Surf or Sound Realty!
3/11/15

Best web site of all house rentals in OBX.
3/10/2015

I love this place. Is is the best place to spend time with family and to spend vacation.
2/6/2015

Every year, we take someone who has never been there. It's so much fun to see how much they love it. And we've used another Realty but the service is not near the same. I tell everybody.
2/9/2015

I recommended your company to a friend and she used you last year. She loved the service (and I knew she would) and she'll be using you from now on.
2/9/2015

The best part of my year is relaxing in Rodanthe with my family and friends!
1/17/2015

Spent a quiet week in October, the house is right by the never ending beach (albeit a short trail walk). And we could still swim in the Atlantic ocean. Salvo is a quiet area of the Outer Banks.
01/02/2015

Oh thank you soooo much. I CANNOT wait for our vacation to OBX.. We have always rented from other companies however a friend recommended you guys and it has been a very simple process. I really appreciate you help you have been wonderful.
01/02/2015

My husband and I first came to HI on our honeymoon in 2010, have returned every year since, and have always rented from Surf or Sound. We bring our kids, grandkids, siblings, cousins and friends. On average, we rent 4-5 homes for the week with family members in each, and have NEVER been disappointed in our stay! In 2015 we will return, and I am so looking forward to the sunsets, relaxation, and fun with our families.
12/30/2014

Thank you Surf or Sound Realty for providing the opportunity for our family to have an extra memorable Christmas. For years, our family vacationed in Kinnakeet Ibis. The painting in the living room was my father-in-law's favorite. Pop-pop died a few years ago and this painting is such a positive reminder of him. Thank you Surf or Sound Realty for making this gift idea a reality. Beyond grateful...with heartfelt appreciation.
12/29/2014

Great online service!
12/27/2014

We recently journeyed from NYC, DC, and Hampton Roads to enjoy a first class OBX vacation! Time together for us is precious and irreplaceable! So, thank you to those of Surf or Sound Realty for helping us forge such special memories!
11/13/2014

Overall, customer service was excellent!
11/8/2014

We had a marvelous time! Thank you for providing just the right house for a quiet and relaxing week at the beach. We'll be calling you again in the spring.
11/8/2014

We love Surf or Sound!
9/27/2014

Our stay was fantastic and we loved our house! It was perfect for our kids and have such great amenities. We were so pleased and cant wait to return.
8/22/2014

Thanks to you all, we always have memorable wks of vacation on Hatteras! We were there in June & I still have some sand in my car, but that's ok because it makes me feel closer to our favorite tranquil place!
8/21/2014

Surf or Sound staff have always been extremely pleasant to work with. Thank you for your kindness.
8/9/2014

The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. Easy to make reservation and use website.
6/21/2014

Great customer service & very friendly which was why we will be back.
5/24/2014

Everything was great. We wanted a relaxing vacation and that's exactly what we got. Beautiful place. Thank you.
5/17/2014

Very friendly staff, eager to please, nice to talk with, like family.
4/12/2014

We have been coming to the Outer Banks for 23 years. 2013's house from Surf or Sound was one of the top houses we have ever rented. Thanks for the memories.
2/11/2014

We just left Avon on Saturday. This was our second stay on Hatteras Island, both with Surf or Sound Realty we had excellent service through them and a wonderful vacation with our family, hoping to book another house through you for the summer of 2014! Beautiful picture, we miss Hatteras island already! Thanks for helping our family make wonderful memories in such a special place!
2013

I must say too that this was my first experience out of 25 years of OBX vacations staying with Surf or Sound and it was awesome! Our house was gorgeous and the office staff in Avon were extremely friendly and helpful. A good time was had by all!!
2013

Our check in was smooth + easy even though it was Labor Day weekend. The "agent" was very courteous, friendly, and welcoming
8/31/2013

Our family has a very poor experience in 2012 with [another rental company]. We found this house and booked immediately last year. So glad we came with you. Sailor's Landing is amazing! It offers all the amenities you can ask for; its delightful rooms are awesome. We have already booked for next year! It’s perfect in every way!!! We were extremely pleased. Already recommended you and they booked 8 bedroom home on Laura Rd same week as us!
8/9/2013

Many thanks for a terrific vacation…we will use you again and will refer it to friends & family
7/16/2013

Very happy of our choice. Very clean. Perfect location
7/7/2013

This is our third year with Surf or Sound & our third year at Tropical Outlook. We have advanced reservations for the same week next year! Again!
7/20/2013

Love the curbside check out!
7/20/2013

Customer service is fantastic!
7/20/2013

I just attended a destination wedding for my older daughter. Her in-laws have been coming to the Outer Banks for 25 years. Being a beach novice, I was somewhat cautious, but now, I am completely sold. Your accommodations were exquisite and precisely as advertised! I can't wait til next week when I can book for August 2, 2014! 
7/27/2013

we have been dealing with your company for a very long time and i have no complaints every year is awesome so please keep up the great work
7/20/2013

Our vacation here was wonderful! The house was great! We loved it. It was perfect for our extended family! We totally enjoyed the relaxing week here!
6/15/2013

Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Even on the phone. You can hear the smile in their voices. This was a wonderful experience and have already secured this home for next year. Please thank the owners for us!
6/15/2013

Nicest realty service I have used! Friendly. Helpful. Check-in was easy. Lock Box for keys was great!-Loved the house and your services. Good job!
6/15/2013

Loved the personal service. Great customer service from beginning to end!
6/15/2013

I just wanted to say thanks again for the ease and kindness our reservation/stay was handled. I filled out the comment sheet upon departure-just wanted to give you another pat on the back!! Our son and his fiancé (as of last Saturday!) joined us. They had a wonderful time too! She would like to be married on the sound, not sure where, next summer. I'm sure I can count on Surf or Sound for our accommodations!
2013

Thank you Surf or Sound for allowing us to have such an amazing week while staying at Captain Jack's the week of 6/1! It was our first visit to the outer banks and we will be returning for years to come! Your staff was wonderful and the house was immaculate when we arrived! Thank you again! I cannot honestly say enough!
6/1/2013

We had an awesome time in Rodanthe last week, weather wasn't the greatest....But we did get to see the dolphins swim by, did lots of beach combing, found some sea glass and woke up early to see some beautiful sunrises, like this one... Thanks Surf or Sound.... See you next year!
4/20/2013

Finally a word about Surf or Sound. They were terrific with us. We were first time renters with a family (grandparents to teenager), and I cannot sing their praises enough. Their customer service was terrific. They honestly seemed to care about us. They were patient, knowledgeable, and helpful! So much so that we have already booked a trip for next year with them in the same condo but a different unit (with wireless Internet). We have also talked with several family members who also booked with them.
2013

I've rented from them twice this year and both times went off without a hitch.
10/6/2012

I just wanted to say I think you guys are awesome and can't wait to see you this Spring!!!
2012

Thank you. Surf or Sound is the best agency of the Outer Banks. 
9/30/2012

The best place for family vacations!!!!!
9/8/2012

We have been coming to Hatteras Island since 2004. Except last year when I was pregnant with our first born. This year we will be visiting in September, with my whole family 14 adults and 8 kiddos. We cannot wait to bring our son to THE BEACH!
9/7/2012

Thanks for a wonderful vacation Surf or Sound! It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had in a long while! 
9/1/2012

Thanks so much for all you do to make vacations amazing! I can't believe how easy the rental process was from booking to check-out! 
9/1/2012

Had a great time on our Outer Banks vacation! Would love to rent the same house again next year!
9/1/2012

We truly are grateful for all that you do in renting our properties, but more than that, for the wonderful personal relationships we've enjoyed over the years. May our friendship and teamwork spirit continue for many years to come!
Homeowner – 2012

Surf or Sound Realty, you came through for us beautifully. We had a great week at "Ocean Hi" in Rodanthe. Brought my husband's parents along and they enjoyed the house, the views and being together. Thank you and to the homeowner as well. You have a great family house with plenty of elbow room for everyone. 
2012

It was an excellent vacation with my family and the sunrises were beautiful. 
7/28/2012

As always, Surf or Sound "Leads the Way!" Thanks again for your professional and timely assistance. Thanks to people like you, I look forward to booking again this year.
7/14/2012

Beyond the first class accommodations and customer service we receive from S or S, is the bond, times and smiles we share with one another. What a beautiful area to create family memories!
6/30/2012

We have rented the same home for the past four years. Only stars here!
6/30/2012

Anyone thinking of renting with SOS, just do it. A large selection of homes, & friendly helpful staff. 
6/23/2012

Thanks again for another amazing vacation! As always, reservations, check in and check out were quick and EASY!! Awesome staff! Thank you for everything - we already look forward to next year! First night back home and we already miss Rodanthe :-( 
6/23/2012

We are finally down to Hatteras Island for second time this year. Love our house-weather-and Surf or Sound! 
6/9/2012

Thanks again for another wonderful vacation! Your rental and check-in procedures were smooth as usual! Anyone thinking of renting with SOS, just do it. A large selection of homes and friendly, helpful staff. See you again next year.
6/9/2012

We really enjoyed our May vacation! Thank you Surf or Sound for the wonderful home and your superior customer service. The curbside checkout was totally awesome!
5/5/2012

WE HAD A GREAT SUMMER!! LOVE YOU GUYS!! 
2012

Just wanted to take a minute to thank you again, now that the dust has settled from the wedding. You really helped every detail possible, with the measurements of the patio to the welcome bags! Thank you so much for all your help over the year it took for us to plan. Blaise and I will be renting from Surf or Sound again and so will our families. We all loved your service and commitment to making our planning period easier. We will be recommending Surf or Sound to anyone who will listen! :)
6/4/2011

>