Testimonials

Surf or Sound Realty Guest Reviews

We are proud to host thousands of family vacations each year and we enjoy hearing how much fun everyone had and what you all love about our charming island. Below are reviews we have received from our guests.

★★★★★
I routinely rent from Surf or Sound. The last 2 years, we rented twice (spring and fall). In our case, the homes and amenities were great. I will purchase travel insurance during hurricane season since I did need it once. We also use pool heat and cover the pool in the spring. My personal feeling is, you are on vacation so you should not need the rental staff unless things go wrong. In my case, i never need them since i am happily on vacation!
Mike W. - December 2017


★★★★★
This home had everything we wanted for two weeks at the beach. It was an easy walk (we are 83 yrs. old) to the beach, was very well equipped and the perfect size for the two of our children and their families to visit.  We like Frisco as it is out of the frenzy of the upper Outer Banks. From the enclosed outdoor shower to the many bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and very nice common area it turned out to be much nicer than we envisioned. We literally had no problems with anything in the house.  When we arrived it was ready to be occupied.  We would love to rent it again. Surf or Sound Realty did a good job in keeping us informed about the property including the problems related to an off shore hurricane. The fact that the weather enabled us to spend every day on the beach certainly surprised us and made this vacation one to remember.
Herbert H. - October 2017

★★★★★
We had THE BEST experience with Surf or Sound Realty. We were not only planning a vacation, but also a wedding at the home we were renting. Marcia was just wonderful - we're so glad to have worked with her through it all. Highly recommend this realty company if you're planning a visit (or special event!) in the Outer Banks!
Nicole M. - November 2017

My party arrived at The Playhouse on 10/29 and departed on 11/5. Having reported a few maintenance problems to you upon arrival, your timely response and corrective action was outstanding. From check-in through check-out, your staff did an outstanding job. I have been renting from you for many years and am always impressed by your professional staff. Thanks for a job well done.
Tom B. - 11/6/17

Great Property Management group. Have rented from them multiple times and will continue to do so. Great houses, and IF there is ever a problem, they take care of it right away!
Stephanie M. - 8/1/17 

Best sunsets around... been using Surf of Sound for over 20 years... need I say more.
Jean-Michel P. - Summer 2017

Fabulous vacation due to excellent services by Surf or Sound. House was immaculate, well stocked and perfectly suited our needs. Surf or Sound helped me find the right house at the right price!
Michele G. - Spring 2017

Surf or sound reality was amazing! By far the best vacation home I have ever stayed in. The house was very clean and very accommodated. I had every thing I needed to feel at home. The pool and hot tub were wonderful as well. My family and I enjoyed our stay on hatteras island and will definitely be back and using surf or sound. I highly recommend them!
Taylor L. - Spring 2017

My experience with Surf or Sound Realty was one for the books. The house my family and I stayed at was beautiful and the location was perfect! There were so many features such as the hot tub and pool table that kept me busy every day of the week. The rooms were clean and tidy as soon as we arrived, and the house itself came with many up to date appliances that made it easy to be our home away from home. Would definitely use this realty again, they are so helpful with any vacation/ rental needs.
Nicole S. - Spring 2017

Loved Reflections! Great house with a great view and accessibility! The OBX is a cherished place in our family and Surf or Sound Realty was very helpful. I had to come in a couple of times over the week for minor issues and both were resolved in a timely manner. Can't say enough about our experience. Thanks Surf or Sound!
Les C. - Summer 2017

We enjoyed our stay in Avon using Surf or Sound Realty. The house was just as it was 7 years ago when we stayed there. Very clean, great location and easy to find. The staff is great to work with and very friendly! We'll be back soon!
Patty S. - Summer 2017

This was the first time that we used Surf or Sound Realty, or any private home rental. Our oceanfront home away from home was Aquarius in Avon, Hatteras Island. The house was very well equipped and just as gorgeous as the pictures shown online. Perhaps not luxurious to some, but definitely a relaxed beach house, and we felt so much at home. The property was clean, with a few minor repairs that were reviewed timely. The office was easily accessible with friendly staff. Well documented house rules, and plenty of information was available online, including area and sightseeing tips. Lovely view of the sand dunes and a shimmer of ocean. We would feel very comfortable using Surf or Sound Realty again. Thanks for helping us make lasting memories!
Tini G. - Summer 2017

I wanted to announce publicly how above and BEYOND amazing Surf or Sound is. After a devastating mistake of leaving Teddy behind in our lovely vacation house, Spencer received a package today with Teddy, a letter from Teddy, a lovely little blanket, multiple pics of his adventures after we left and some little extras for us. I'm in tears. Look at this sweet boy's happiness. I will never forget this.
Jenny S. - 10/6/17

Jennystanekteddy

Awesome house! We decided to try the Outer Banks for the Christmas Season.... What a great idea! Buck's Beach House is beautiful! We have already booked for the 2016 Christmas Season!
4/5/15

What would I do with my Hatteras Island Spring Escape? Sit by the shore...where the land meets the sea and reflect how blessed I am to be...staying in a home rented by Surf or Sound Realty!
3/11/15

Best web site of all house rentals in OBX.
3/10/2015

I love this place. Is is the best place to spend time with family and to spend vacation.
2/6/2015

Every year, we take someone who has never been there. It's so much fun to see how much they love it. And we've used another Realty but the service is not near the same. I tell everybody.
2/9/2015

I recommended your company to a friend and she used you last year. She loved the service (and I knew she would) and she'll be using you from now on.
2/9/2015

The best part of my year is relaxing in Rodanthe with my family and friends!
1/17/2015

Spent a quiet week in October, the house is right by the never ending beach (albeit a short trail walk). And we could still swim in the Atlantic ocean. Salvo is a quiet area of the Outer Banks.
01/02/2015

Oh thank you soooo much. I CANNOT wait for our vacation to OBX.. We have always rented from other companies however a friend recommended you guys and it has been a very simple process. I really appreciate you help you have been wonderful.
01/02/2015

My husband and I first came to HI on our honeymoon in 2010, have returned every year since, and have always rented from Surf or Sound. We bring our kids, grandkids, siblings, cousins and friends. On average, we rent 4-5 homes for the week with family members in each, and have NEVER been disappointed in our stay! In 2015 we will return, and I am so looking forward to the sunsets, relaxation, and fun with our families.
12/30/2014

Thank you Surf or Sound Realty for providing the opportunity for our family to have an extra memorable Christmas. For years, our family vacationed in Kinnakeet Ibis. The painting in the living room was my father-in-law's favorite. Pop-pop died a few years ago and this painting is such a positive reminder of him. Thank you Surf or Sound Realty for making this gift idea a reality. Beyond grateful...with heartfelt appreciation.
12/29/2014

Great online service!
12/27/2014

We recently journeyed from NYC, DC, and Hampton Roads to enjoy a first class OBX vacation! Time together for us is precious and irreplaceable! So, thank you to those of Surf or Sound Realty for helping us forge such special memories!
11/13/2014

Overall, customer service was excellent!
11/8/2014

We had a marvelous time! Thank you for providing just the right house for a quiet and relaxing week at the beach. We'll be calling you again in the spring.
11/8/2014

We love Surf or Sound!
9/27/2014

Our stay was fantastic and we loved our house! It was perfect for our kids and have such great amenities. We were so pleased and cant wait to return.
8/22/2014

Thanks to you all, we always have memorable wks of vacation on Hatteras! We were there in June & I still have some sand in my car, but that's ok because it makes me feel closer to our favorite tranquil place!
8/21/2014

Surf or Sound staff have always been extremely pleasant to work with. Thank you for your kindness.
8/9/2014

The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. Easy to make reservation and use website.
6/21/2014

Great customer service & very friendly which was why we will be back.
5/24/2014

Everything was great. We wanted a relaxing vacation and that's exactly what we got. Beautiful place. Thank you.
5/17/2014

Very friendly staff, eager to please, nice to talk with, like family.
4/12/2014

We have been coming to the Outer Banks for 23 years. 2013's house from Surf or Sound was one of the top houses we have ever rented. Thanks for the memories.
2/11/2014

We just left Avon on Saturday. This was our second stay on Hatteras Island, both with Surf or Sound Realty we had excellent service through them and a wonderful vacation with our family, hoping to book another house through you for the summer of 2014! Beautiful picture, we miss Hatteras island already! Thanks for helping our family make wonderful memories in such a special place!
2013

I must say too that this was my first experience out of 25 years of OBX vacations staying with Surf or Sound and it was awesome! Our house was gorgeous and the office staff in Avon were extremely friendly and helpful. A good time was had by all!!
2013

Our check in was smooth + easy even though it was Labor Day weekend. The "agent" was very courteous, friendly, and welcoming
8/31/2013

Our family has a very poor experience in 2012 with [another rental company]. We found this house and booked immediately last year. So glad we came with you. Sailor's Landing is amazing! It offers all the amenities you can ask for; its delightful rooms are awesome. We have already booked for next year! It’s perfect in every way!!! We were extremely pleased. Already recommended you and they booked 8 bedroom home on Laura Rd same week as us!
8/9/2013

Many thanks for a terrific vacation…we will use you again and will refer it to friends & family
7/16/2013

Very happy of our choice. Very clean. Perfect location
7/7/2013

This is our third year with Surf or Sound & our third year at Tropical Outlook. We have advanced reservations for the same week next year! Again!
7/20/2013

Love the curbside check out!
7/20/2013

Customer service is fantastic!
7/20/2013

I just attended a destination wedding for my older daughter. Her in-laws have been coming to the Outer Banks for 25 years. Being a beach novice, I was somewhat cautious, but now, I am completely sold. Your accommodations were exquisite and precisely as advertised! I can't wait til next week when I can book for August 2, 2014! 
7/27/2013

we have been dealing with your company for a very long time and i have no complaints every year is awesome so please keep up the great work
7/20/2013

Our vacation here was wonderful! The house was great! We loved it. It was perfect for our extended family! We totally enjoyed the relaxing week here!
6/15/2013

Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Even on the phone. You can hear the smile in their voices. This was a wonderful experience and have already secured this home for next year. Please thank the owners for us!
6/15/2013

Nicest realty service I have used! Friendly. Helpful. Check-in was easy. Lock Box for keys was great!-Loved the house and your services. Good job!
6/15/2013

Loved the personal service. Great customer service from beginning to end!
6/15/2013

I just wanted to say thanks again for the ease and kindness our reservation/stay was handled. I filled out the comment sheet upon departure-just wanted to give you another pat on the back!! Our son and his fiancé (as of last Saturday!) joined us. They had a wonderful time too! She would like to be married on the sound, not sure where, next summer. I'm sure I can count on Surf or Sound for our accommodations!
2013

Thank you Surf or Sound for allowing us to have such an amazing week while staying at Captain Jack's the week of 6/1! It was our first visit to the outer banks and we will be returning for years to come! Your staff was wonderful and the house was immaculate when we arrived! Thank you again! I cannot honestly say enough!
6/1/2013

We had an awesome time in Rodanthe last week, weather wasn't the greatest....But we did get to see the dolphins swim by, did lots of beach combing, found some sea glass and woke up early to see some beautiful sunrises, like this one... Thanks Surf or Sound.... See you next year!
4/20/2013

Finally a word about Surf or Sound. They were terrific with us. We were first time renters with a family (grandparents to teenager), and I cannot sing their praises enough. Their customer service was terrific. They honestly seemed to care about us. They were patient, knowledgeable, and helpful! So much so that we have already booked a trip for next year with them in the same condo but a different unit (with wireless Internet). We have also talked with several family members who also booked with them.
2013

>